The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Rs 125 crore as the prize money for India’s T20 World Cup-winning squad led by skipper Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid. Out of that cash-rich purse, the 15 players, which includes the trio of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Yuzvendra Chahal and Sanju Samson who didn’t get to play even a single match, will get Rs 5 crore each — according to a report in The Indian Express.

Dravid, whose coaching tenure with Team India ended with the T20 World Cup, will also get Rs 5 crore as his share from the prize money. Meanwhile, Dravid’s coaching staff comprising batting coach Vikram Rathour, fielding coach T Dilip and bowling coach Paras Mhambrey will receieve Rs 2.5 crore each, as per the report.

A prize money of Rs 2 crore each from the total purse will also be awarded to the backroom staff, which includes three physiotherapists, three throwdown specialists, two masseurs and the strength and conditioning coach Soham Desai.

The reserve players named for the T20 World Cup — Rinku Singh, Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed — and five members of BCCI’s Senior Selection Committee headed by chairman Ajit Agarkar will reportedly get Rs 1 crore each.

Here’s the break-up as per the report:
Rs 5 crore each – 15 players and head coach Rahul Dravid (16×5)
Rs 2.5 crore each – Batting, fielding and bowling coaches (3×2.5)
Rs 2 crore each – physiotherapists, throwdown specialists, masseurs, strength and conditioning coach (9×2)
Rs 1 crore each – selectors and reserve players (9×1)
The report adds that a share of the prize money will also be awarded to the video analyst and BCCI staff members at the World Cup.

India won the T20 World Cup 2024 without losing a single match and defeated South Africa by seven runs in a pulsating final at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, on June 29.

The T20 World Cup 2024 has already concluded, with India emerging victorious! Here’s a breakdown of the ICC prize money:

  • Total Prize Pool: A record-breaking $11.25 million (nearly ₹94 crore).
  • Winner (India): $2.45 million (around ₹20.42 crore), the highest amount ever awarded in the tournament’s history.
  • Runner-up (South Africa): $1.28 million (approximately ₹10.67 crore).
  • Losing Semi-finalists (England & Afghanistan): $787,500 each (roughly ₹6.56 crore).

Here’s how the remaining teams fared:

  • Super 8 Teams: Each received $382,500 (approximately ₹3.16 crore).
  • Teams Ranked 9th-12th: Each got $247,500 (around ₹2 crore).
  • Teams Ranked 13th-20th: Each earned $225,000 (approximately ₹1.87 crore).

There was also an additional bonus of $31,154 (roughly ₹26 lakh) awarded to each team for every match they won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments